Last weekend of solitude

This has been a nice quiet little weekend. This weekend, I can say, will be my last one alone. This Thursday Saeko will finally be coming home from her internship in Paraguay. I am so proud of her for going out there and trying to make a difference in the lives of the people and in the NGO that she is working for. I can only imagine the challenges she must have faced due to her level of spanish. Although, I know that she has touched many people over there because of her genuine love and care she has for them. She has a huge heart and deeply desires to help everyone she can. 

On other news, I did do something productive this weekend. I was able to sell our car. It was a simple 2000 Toyota Corolla. It runs fine, but there is a risk that in the near future the engine will need to be looked at and rebuilt. We do not feel that we want to spend that kind of money to fix a used car (we don’t actually have that kind of money to spend) so we decided to sell it and spend that money on buying another car. I am starting to get mixed feelings about selling the car in its current condition but it is something I need to do. 
Lately I have been reading a book by Elder Russell M. Nelson, a member of the 12 Apostles. It is entitled "The Power Within Us." It is a great book and today I was reading the chapter on sacrifice. He talks about how the word’s meaning has changed through the years. He broke the word up to its latin counterpart and explained what it actually meant in the past and how it actually means when dealing with the scriptures. I found it interesting how the term to sacrifice in our minds we generally think of giving something up where in reality the literal definition actually means "make sacred." When we "sacrifice" are we really giving something up? Or are we striving for something more? Something in return? I feel that as we sacrifice our time and means we are actually striving to "make sacred every thought, every action, and our very character" toward God.
I like how King Benjamin once said "when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God."
I know that God is mindful of all of us and that He truly loves and cares for each one of us. Let us show our love to Him and not look at sacrifice as a negative action of choice but of one of gratitude and love.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

